8 Democrats qualify for 2020 Glynn County races

Eight Democratic candidates from Glynn County have qualified to run in seven of the local partisan races being contested this year. Our candidates have qualified for the State Legislature, Glynn County Commission, Glynn County Board of Education and the Glynn County Tax Commissioner.

“This is the largest slate of local Democratic candidates in over two decades,” said GlynnDems Chairwoman Julie Jordan. “We are thrilled to field such a qualified and diverse group of candidates that will run to make a difference for all members of our community.”

The Democratic General Primary, including the presidential primary, will be June 9. Early voting begins May 18. The General Election will be Nov. 3.

The newly qualified candidates are:

State Legislature
Julie Jordan, House District 179

Glynn County Board of Commissioners
At-large Post 2
Fred Griffith
Taylor Ritz

District 2
Julian “Puddy” Smith

District 5
Allen Booker (incumbent)

Glynn County Board of Education
At-Large Post 2
Regina Johnson

District 5
Audrey Gibbons

Glynn County Tax Commissioner
Trina Rankin